Beauty

Favourite Eyeshadow Palettes

I am a self confessed eyeshadow palette hoarder, and I am not ashamed to admit it! I find them so addictive and actually find that I have to stop myself buying more when I’m out shopping. I have been wearing eyeshadow for a fair few years now and have learnt which colours I like and what ones I don’t, so have managed to cut down by not buying the palettes where I’ll only use 2 out of the 12 colours available.

I’ve had a long hard look though my makeup box and come up with my favourite five palettes to share with you.

5. Mac Cool Neutrals Palette

This palette was my first ever Mac palette, I’d had single shadows before but never 15 all at once. This is definitely more of an everyday palette than an evening/occasion one, as there are a lot more pink and neutral tones to it. I use this palette much more during the spring/summer months due to all the pinks, however it is also a really great palette to be able to create a smokey eye look.


My favourite shades in this look are, After Dusk, Blackberry, Crushed Clove, Deception, Silver Fog and French Clay. I also really love Brun to fill in my eyebrows, as it gives them a darker, more defined look.


The only thing that I don’t like about this palette is that it is huge, which means its not great to take with me if I have to travel somewhere. But other than that, it is a great palette overall.

4. NYX Ultimate Shadow Palette (Warm Neutrals)

I was given this palette for Christmas by my friend, so I have literally only been using it for about 3 weeks, but I love it. We both love Kylie Cosmetics, and she got it for me because it was the closed one she could find to The Burgundy Palette which we both really love the look of. I am a big fan of bronze and burgundy eyeshadow looks at the moment so this is a perfect palette for me and you can create both those looks easily. 


The shades in this palette don’t have names, but I’ve labelled my favourites below. They are the golden and burgundy shades, as they are my favourite eye looks at the moment. The colours are just so pretty.


This palette contains 16 shadows and is much more compact that the Mac ones, which is why I’d much prefer to take this one with me if i was travelling somewhere. The pigment is great and there is a good range of matte and shimmery colours to chose from. Overall I really like this palette.

3. L’Oreal Color Riche La Palette (Nude Rose)

I bought this palette after watching a video from InTheFrow showing her everyday makeup, and I’m now on my second one after running out of a few of the shades in my first one. I don’t use this as much as I used to anymore, as I went though a stage of wearing that everyday and not using any other palette. This is quite similar to the Mac Cool Neutrals Palette in the sense that there are a lot of pink tones in it, and it is definitely more of spring/summer palette.


My favourite shades in this palette are 1, 2, 3, 6 and 7. This is because they are the pinkest shades in the palette and are great for everyday looks.


There are a combination of 10 matte and shimmery shades in this palette, ranging from light pinks to deep purples. The packaging is quite small which makes it so easy to carry around in my makeup bag. I love this palette but really only use the first five shades which are the lighter pink ones, so its annoying when I hit the pan on my favourite shades and then have to buy a new palette when there are shades barely touched in the old one. However I still really like this palette.

2. Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Eyeshadow Palette

I was so excited when this palette got released, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it! I got given it for Christmas in 2015 by my boyfriend, and I haven’t put it down. Its such a great everyday neutral palette, but then there are some bright and darker colours to make a more evening look.


My favourite shades in this palette are Bathwater, Steady, Punk, Anaheim and Stark. I use these ones to create my everyday neutral look. For a more exciting look, I like to use the bright shimmery shades; Harajuku and Danger.


Much like the Mac palettes, this one is not every compact, which means its not easy to take with me places. However it is still one of my favourite palettes as there are so many different looks you can create from it.

1. Mac Warm Neutrals Palette

Although this is a relatively new palette of mine, it has quickly become one of my favourites! The colours are absolutely gorgeous, and the pigment of the shadows are so good! This is much more of an autumn/winter palette compare with my other Mac one, as there are much more bronze and burgundy tones to it.


Its so hard to pick my favourite shades in this palette as I love them all. You can make so many different eye looks using them. However if I had to choose a couple of favourites they would be; Gingersnap, Dark Brew, Honey Lust, Amber Lights, Saddle and Unwind.


Again, the only thing that I don’t like about this palette is that it is huge, which means its not great to take with me if I have to travel somewhere. But other than that its great. I love creating a gold eye and a burgundy eye, but also love using Unwind as it makes my eyes look greener. Overall, this has to be my favourite palette that I own.

There are so many more palettes out there by so many different brands that I have yet to try so maybe I’ll find an even better one one day?

Daisy xo

 

One thought on “Favourite Eyeshadow Palettes

Leave a Reply

