Beauty

YouTube Made Me Buy It! | DaisyMacxo

We’ve all done this at some point; watched a YouTube video of from favourite beauty blogger absolutely raving about some sort of product (even though they’ve most probably been sponsored to promote it), and next thing you know you’re in Boots swatching it on your hand, and your purse is £25 lighter.

We had a mini discussion during one of my uni lectures about this the other day, and I’ve seen this tag floating around a lot recently on peoples blogs and YouTube channels, so I thought I’d join in to see how much money I’ve wasted on some of these products that others have claimed to be amazing!

A few of the products I’ve bought have been genuinely incredible and I used them every single day, but others I’ve used once and have been stashed in the bottom of the makeup box never to be seen again… Until now…

Benefit Roller Lash

I have been through so many different mascaras over the years from all different brands, but never found the perfect one. This one seemed to be everywhere at some point, so I knew it had to be decent. I was a bit sceptical to buy it at first as it was a bit more expensive compared to other brands that I have bought in the past, but I gave it a shot anyway. It is now my everyday mascara and I love it so so much! The brush is different to any other one I’ve used before, but the formula is amazing and makes my lashes look so good. I rarely wear false eyelashes now.

NYX Contour and Highlight Kit

The first time I used this I thought it was the best £18 I’d ever spent on makeup! However I have used this twice since I bought it all the way back in August. There are a total of eight shades in this palette, and I realistically would only ever use four at a push. It takes so long to use this palette properly, and is so much easier for me to use my Benefit Hoola Bronzer to contour, and one of my highlighters to highlight. I suppose if I was a professional makeup artist I’d have the time and patience to use this more effectively, but for now it’s a no.

Beauty Blender

I have always been a brush girl and applied my foundation with the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush, so moving to a Beauty Blender was a bit of a risk, but it was a risk that paid off. Everyday I put my concealer on with my beauty blender as I find it spreads it more evenly and also takes some of the product away to make it look less cakey. I will still use a brush occasionally to apply foundation as its quicker, but if I want a nicer finish I will always use my beauty blender.

Rimmel Kate Moss Matte Lipstick 107

My FAVOURITE autumn/winter lipstick. This one I most certainly do not regret buying. I tried this out about 3 or 4 years ago when I was looking for a darker lip colour after Zoella recommended it. It is the perfect shade for me as its not too dark, so doesn’t wash me and my fair skin out. I must have gone through at least 3 of these by now, I wear it almost everyday around Christmas time.

NYX Matte Finish Spray 

I use this every time I do my makeup for a special occasion as a part of me still believes that it does something, but what that something is, I’m still yet to discover. Personally I don’t think it makes any difference to my makeup, maybe it gives it more of a matte finish, but I’m still not 100% sure. Again, maybe if I was a professional I would be able to see the difference. I’m not going to stop using it, but I don’t think I’ll be buying another bottle once its runs out.

Rimmel Stay Matte Powder

To me this is highly overrated. Every YouTuber seems to use this, so I decided to buy it, as at such a cheap price, how could I not? Don’t get me wrong for the price it is OK, but its definitely not the best I’ve used. I find it really cakey and it only lasts a couple of hours before I have to reapply. I’m sticking to my Mac Studio Fix Powder for now, unless I can find one thats cheaper but still just as good.

Mac Warm Neutrals Palette

This is a fairly new purchase of mine, so I haven’t had much use of it yet. But the colours are absolutely gorgeous, and the pigment of the shadows are so good! I’ve tried a gold eye and a burgundy eye, and I was pleased with how both of them turned out, so I’m excited to try out more looks.


I’m sure theres so much more I’ve bought because of YouTube, but I’ll save that for another time. Let me know if you’ve bought any products or anything from YouTube recommendations, and how you found them!

Daisy xo

Leave a Reply

