Lifestyle · Travel

Charlie and The Chocolate Factory at The Theatre | Review

For my 20th birthday back in September, my parents surprised me with tickets to go and watch a performance of Charlie and The Chocolate Factory at The Theatre Royal Drury Lane. I was so excited when the day came last Friday when we could finally go to watch it!

Mum, Connor & I got the train up to London to meet up with my godmother and go to the pub where we had planned to go for dinner. However, we forgot that England were playing Scotland that night so the pub was filled with Scottish fans. Luckily I was wearing a tartan skirt so I managed to fit right in! We decided to avoid the football fans in the end and relocated to Byron where we had a lovely meal before the show.

When we got to the theatre we picked up the tickets from mums friend (who’s son happened to play Augustus Gloop in the show). I have to say I was a little disappointed that the tickets weren’t golden tickets. I think they missed out on a trick there! I couldn’t even buy myself a Wonka Bar, only candy floss! But nevertheless we got our drinks and went and found our seats.

We had such good seats, only three rows from the front, so we had one of the best views. The lights then went down and the show started…

The whole show was absolutely amazing, the children in it were such amazing actors, especially Charlie, and Willy Wonka was equally as good. The staging was very realistic, and all the singing and dancing was so fun to watch. Unfortunately, we had a technical glitch during the performance we watched, however the show only stopped for about 10 minutes, and once it resumed everyone forgot about it because of how good and professional all of the actors were. The only thing I was slightly disappointed with was that the Oompa Loompa’s weren’t orange with green hair, but then again Roald Dahl never said they were in the books, so I can’t complain.

I would recommend everyone to go see the performance if you haven’t yet. It’s something for the whole family and a great Christmas trip out!

Daisy xo

Leave a Reply

