Beauty

Summer Beauty Essentials!

Summer is here! Yes, believe it or not, this is our British Summer! Between the clouds, wind and occasional rainfall, we do actually get a bit of sun and warmer weather than usual! And as soon as we see that sun, its off to the beach we go, and come back looking like a lobster. Well, I do anyway, tiniest bit of sun will burn my pale, white as snow skin. So I thought I’d share my summer beauty essentials with you all.

A Good Concealer 

If like me you hate wearing liquid foundation in heat but still need something to cover up those blemishes then a lightweight, good coverage concealer is the way to go. Your skin still feels free but you don’t have to worry about showing those spots and red patches. My favourites are Collections Lasting Perfection Concealer for any blemishes, and Rimmel’s Wake Me Up Concealer for any dark circles under my eyes.

IMG_5866

Powder

This is an essential for me! I love having matte looking skin, but sweating when its hot sort of ruins this look for me, so I always keep a powder with me at all times. My favourite ones are MAC’s Studio Fix Powder and Rimmels Stay Matte Powder. MAC’s Studio Fix Powder is quite thick and heavy on the skin, so I usually use this when I’m not wearing a liquid foundation (which I rarely do unless I’m going out) as is just makes my face feel and look really cakey! Rimmels Stay Matte Powder is great for just a touch up.

IMG_5867

Coloured Eyeliner

Summer is a great time to be able to experiment with new bright and colourful makeup looks, so I like to swap my typical black eyeliner for something a bit more exciting. The one I’ve been using a lot so far is NYX Vivid Bright eyeliner in Violet. I really want it in Sapphire, but everywhere I look its sold out! However if you don’t want to splash out on a coloured eyeliner you can always use eyeshadow as eyeliner in the colour that you want.

IMG_5868

Dry Shampoo

A necessity! I try to wash my hair every other day, so I like to use dry shampoo on the in-between days to make my hair look a bit more presentable. Especially in summer when your hair gets greasy so much quicker from sweat! My favourite is Batiste Dry Shampoo in Floral & Flirty Blush. I love the smell and it doesn’t leave white patches in my hair. I even keep a mini version in my handbag for any greasy hair emergencies!

IMG_5869

Bright Lipstick

Same as the coloured eyeliner, I like to use colourful lipsticks to brighten up my makeup looks. So its out with the purples and burgundies, and in with the pinks and oranges! My favourites at the moment are Bourjois ColorBoost Lip Crayon in Orange Punch, Kylie Cosmetics Lip Kit in Koko K. I’ve ordered another of Kylie’s Lip Kits in Kristen (one of the summer shades) which I can’t wait to try. I just hope it arrives before summers over!

IMG_5870

SPF Moisturiser

I’ll be honest here, the moisturiser that I use almost everyday doesn’t contain SPF, but it’s my all-time favourite moisturiser! I know I should use one with an SPF everyday but I don’t as most of the ones I use tent to make my skin look oily. But on the odd occasion that the sun is shining and I go outside, I’ll use Simple Kind To Skin Protecting Light Moisturiser SPF 15 UVA/UVB to protect and moisturise my skin as I find this one doesn’t feel as oily or cakey.

IMG_5871

Matte Spray 

I only got my hands on one of these the other day, and it is definitely one of the greatest products that I have ever bought! I use the NYX Matte Finish setting spray, and spray in on my face after applying all of my makeup. This is a great substitute to powder as it creates a matte look but in an extremely lightweight way. It makes my make up last all day so that I don’t have to carry powder around with me.

IMG_5872

Highlighter & Bronzer

I do use these two products all year round, but try to use them a lot more when it is summer. This is because I’m very pale and always need a bronzer to give some life to my skin, and I find highlighter so pretty as it makes you look like you are glowing in the sunlight. I have the NYX Highlight & Contour Pro Palette with is a powder contour kit with four highlighters and four bronzers for only £18! It did take a few attempts for me to create a good look with it as I think it is most probably designed for darker skin tones, however using small amounts of product goes a long way! My other favourite bronzer is Benefits Hoola Bronzer which is just a really pretty matte bronzer. I use this to contour and dust lightly all over my skin. My other favourite highlighter is a NYX loose powder in the shade 04 Sexy Shimmer which I found at a market for £6! What a bargain! Its quite big as well so it will last me a long time!

IMG_5874

So there you go, those are my top summer beauty essentials. Hope you enjoyed!

Daisy xo

Leave a Reply

