Lifestyle

Taking a Gap Year

I’m writing this for those of you who are at the end of your exams and are still debating on whether you really want to go to University or not. Or if you still don’t know what you want to do with your life. DON’T WORRY YOU ARE NOT ALONE!

Once finishing school there are so many options for you, however you aren’t always told about them. For example, I went to a Grammar school, so the expectation was that you went straight to University. You get told a bit about gap years, apprenticeships and full time work, but it was mainly University.

For me, I felt so much pressure to know what I was going to be doing once I had finished school, so I decided that I may as well just apply for University even though I wasn’t 100% sure at the time if that’s what I wanted. I went to a few university open days and ended up applying for something that I didn’t really have much interest in, but I was ok at it at school. I knew that I didn’t want to do it, but I felt there was so little time to decide that I just went with it anyway.

Then the wait for results came, which felt like a lifetime away! But they did eventually come and I was so pleased with my results! I even got into the random uni and course I applied for. It was only at this point that I knew that I couldn’t go through with it, so I decided to take a risk and decline the offer to take a gap year! And it has been the best decision that I have EVER made!

Having a year off has made me much less stressed, and also given me so much more freedom and time to look into what I really want to do, and now I know for definite. You don’t have to use this year to travel the world if you don’t want to, and you don’t have to get a full time job. Use the time to discover something you really love to do, take some time off and have the break you deserve after all the stress of exams!

During this gap year I have been able to look into apprenticeships, colleges, universities as well as full time work without the stress of my A-Levels in the back of my head. After much deliberation I have decided that I am going to go to Canterbury Christ Church University to study Media and Communications, and having my A-Level results has given me the confidence in knowing that this is the right decision for me.

As well as all this I have been able to get a second job which has enabled me to save up lots of money that I can use to fund my degree, I have travelled a lot, including going to places such as Dublin, Corfu and Dubai (I’m going to do a blog post on these), done some work experience at Freuds Communications (a PR agency in London) which was an amazing experience, and also got a well-deserved break from education!

So, the moral of the story is, if you don’t know, don’t worry. Don’t rush into things you’re not 100% on, because you’re likely to regret it. Take some time to discover something you love, and you’ll never have to work a day in your life (wow how cheesy).

Daisy xo

Leave a Reply

